top of page

Featured Leader - Joanne Chok ACB, ALB


Featured Leader - Joanne Chok ACB, ALB

Joanne was blessed with great camaraderie of District Leaders

2018 - 2019

1. Can you name a person who has had a tremendous impact on you as a leader? Why and how did this person impact your life?

I have never thought of learning to be a leader as I have always been independent and like to do things my way. My way was the right way. Two particular persons in Toastmasters have changed my perception about leadership.

One of them is this petite lady, Ms Cheah Siang Hong. She was the Chartered President of Cowie Bay Mandarin Toastmasters Club and I was her then VPE. She is meticulous in her strategic planning yet seeing the big picture at the same time. She is not only particular with doing the right thing, but also doing it right. A newly chartered club is very vulnerable, unforeseen challenges and thus stress were inevitable. However, in all frustration I have never seen her lose her composure. She is calm and grounded, keeping everyone and everything on track. I was also amazed that in most of the untoward circumstances, I seldom see her criticize or complain. This in another way make me stop grumbling and just contribute.

Joanne was under the guidance of her Chartered President Cheah

Another leader that has impacted me is my IPDvD Shane Ho. I was his assistant during his term as Division K Director 2017/18. Sometimes I still couldn’t believe he is years younger than me as the way he thinks and the way he reacts to crisis are so much more mature than me. He is a mindful and conscientious leader - members’ benefit is the priority in his decision making. Throughout my service term with Shane we encountered some crisis and though some circumstances or judgement are rather unfair to him, he has always remained impartial. In him I see humility. This makes me reflect on myself - how I should lead by containing my ego and be more patient in understanding others’ need.

Joanne was with her Division Advisor PDG Datin Grace and her IPDvD Shane Ho

2. What is one characteristic that you believe every leader should possess?

Positive Attitude. A leader is someone who inspires and influences, thus positive mindset is utmost important. Positive energy is contagious and this will boost the morale of the team. Team with high morale is constantly able to accomplish greater task.

3. Share with us the most important lesson you learn from Toastmaster.

Accountability. We are in a position that will bring influence - be it good or bad influence. We need to be responsible for the decision we make and the attitude we send forth. I used to be very subjective and make decision based on my own perception and judgement. But in fact we can’t always be right. Now I start to learn how to be more open-minded and try to execute task and make decision based on the four core values of Toastmasters. As a leaders, you are accountable for all the responsibilities put on your shoulder, the results and of course, the mistakes.

4. What advice would you give someone going into a leadership position for the first time?

Do not be afraid of asking for help when you need it. You have to take the initiative to equip yourself with certain level of knowledge and competency, only then you can teach and empower others. Be committed and take ownership of the responsibility you have been entrusted with.


bottom of page